Missouri Task Force 1 Selected for 2018 Robb Award

Columbia, MO, April 9, 2018 – The Boone County Republican Central Committee (BCRCC) announced today that it has selected Missouri Task Force 1 as the 2018 Dr. Edward H. Robb Public Servant Award recipient. The Robb Award recognizes outstanding service by an employee or identified group of any city, county or public entity in Boone County. Missouri Task Force 1 is a division of the Boone County Fire Protection District.

“This annual award recognizes a public employee or group that represents the best in public service, and that is also based within Boone County,” said BCRCC Chairman Mike Zweifel, “Missouri Task Force 1 members go above and beyond in being outstanding ambassadors for the people of Boone County and the state of Missouri. The brave members of Task Force 1 are willing to put their lives on the line to respond anywhere in the country to help.”

In 2017, Missouri Task Force 1 team members were deployed to areas hit by hurricanes Harvey, Irma, and Maria in Texas, Florida, Puerto Rico and the Caribbean. The task force rescued 376 people and numerous pets on their 13-day deployment in Texas alone responding to Harvey.

The Task Force was also activated for record flooding that occurred in late April and early May in southeast Missouri, where they performed water rescues and other missions in several communities. In addition, Missouri Task Force 1 also formed a partnership with the Missouri National Guard in 2017 to establish, develop and manage a helicopter search and rescue team to enhance Task Force 1’s capabilities in an emergency.

Missouri Task Force One, a division of the Boone County Fire Protection District, consists of 210 members from across the State of Missouri that volunteer hundreds of hours for training and expertise to serve not only Boone County and the State of Missouri but the entire nation. This team is one of only 28 teams in the country and these local men and women have responded to some of the worst disasters in the state of Missouri as well as all over the United States, including the World Trade Center attacks in September 2001, Hurricane Katrina, and the Joplin tornado in 2011.

Eligibility for the Robb Award is limited to full-time, non-elected public employees or identified groups in Boone County and is strictly non-partisan. The award is named after Dr. Edward H. Robb, the late Boone County Presiding Commissioner who passed away in 2011. Rosa Robb, Dr. Robb‘s wife, said, “Ed’s family and I appreciate that the Committee honored Missouri Task Force 1 as this year’s recipient of the Robb Award. The Task Force is a great entity that deserves recognition for all its life-saving efforts last year on its multiple deployments.”

The award will be presented at the Boone County Republican’s annual Lincoln Day Banquet on April 13, 2018, starting at 5:30 p.m. at the Courtyard by Marriott in Columbia. For more information on the banquet, visit the BCRCC’s website at http://www.boonecountyrepublicans.com.